Louisiana, to many, is known as a party state -- think Mardi Gras. While the state may be lenient on some things, when it comes to being accused of cocaine-related drug charges, don't expect much leniency. The cocaine problem in the state is significant, and it is one that lawmakers and law enforcement officials would like to get under control.
Cocaine-related offenses can be broken down into three different categories. These are possession, sale and trafficking. All carry stiff penalties if one is convicted. Current penalties according to state laws are:
- Possession: Incarceration of five to 60 years. Depending on amount in possession, hard labor may be required and fines ranging from $5,000 to $600,000.
- Sales: Incarceration of five to 30 years, hard labor or fines up to $50,000. Penalties increase if drugs are sold to a minor.
- Trafficking: Incarceration of 40 to 99 years with hard labor, no parole and fines up to $500,000.
Now, the state does also understand that addiction to this drug is a major issue. Those facing simple possession charges may be able to have their cases moved to drug court in order to receive treatment rather than just face punishment. A person must meet all necessary requirements for this to even be considered.
Cocaine-related drug charges really are no joke. If one is unable to have his or her case moved to drug court and is ultimately convicted, the consequences can be life-changing. An experienced criminal defense attorney can help Louisiana residents -- or visitors to the state -- who are facing drug charges fight to protect their rights and their interests.
Source: FindLaw, "Louisiana Cocaine Laws", Accessed on Jan. 12, 2018