Jump To Navigation

What are some penalties of drunk driving charges in Louisiana?

It is widely known that Cajun Country is an area with residents who know how to party and have a good time. Alcohol is the central theme at many events across Baton Rouge and the surrounding areas. If you are planning on going to an event that will feature alcohol, you should be aware of the drunk driving laws in the state because these laws have harsh penalties that you might have to deal with if you are found to be drunk when you drive.

What does implied consent mean?

Implied consent is a legal concept that means you agree to chemical testing if you are suspected of drinking and driving. You might not have realized it when you got your Louisiana driver's license, but you agreed to implied consent at that time. You can face a driver's license suspension of 365 days on a first offense or 730 on a second or subsequent offense. In addition to the suspension, you will need to have an SR-22 for the next 3 years.

What are some drunk driving penalties?

In Louisiana, the penalties for drunk driving are harsh to begin with and they get even worse with subsequent offenses. At a minimum, you face up to six months in jail. You also face the loss of your driver's license for at least a year and fines of up to $1,000 or more. If someone is killed in an accident that a drunk driver causes, the drunk driver can face up to 30 years in prison.

Are there any mandatory minimum penalties?

On a second DWI, a mandatory minimum of 48 hours in jail is required. On a third offense, the minimum time in jail is 1 year. In both cases, additional incarceration periods are possible.

It is important for you to know about the options you have for dealing with a drunk driving charge. The penalties you have to deal with might hinge on your defense.

Source: DMV.org, "DUI & DWI in Louisiana," accessed July 20, 2016

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information

Do You Have a Case?

Bold labels are required.

Contact Information

The use of the Internet or this form for communication with the firm or any individual member of the firm does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Confidential or time-sensitive information should not be sent through this form.


Privacy Policy

Subscribe to This Blog's Feed

Contact Us

[an error occurred while processing this directive]